My experiences with new OS’s

I didn’t buy OSX 10.5 Leopard to upgrade my old Macbook Pro with OSX 10.4 Tiger. So this is the first time using Leopard. I like stacks but only in list view which reduces the amount of time it takes to get to files I need to use. I haven’t had the need to use spaces or time machine. A few things here and there are more streamlined but not much different from tiger. However I rely on boot camp which is not available in 10.4 and with it I installed windows 7 beta. It installs just fine, the only thing you need to do differently is when the win 7 installer asks you to choose a partition to install on you have to reformat the partition that boot camp set up to NTFS.

I like Windows 7 a lot with the clean polished look and it works fine on my Macbook. I had a lot of BSOD with vista on my macbook pro which I’m sure it had to do with Apple’s graphic drivers for the ATI X1600. Not everything runs since it’s a beta (L4D doesn’t but TF2 does) but it is still at least 6-12 months from release. The thing I am most excited about is Microsoft being able to build a light weight efficient OS despite being such a large corporation. It seems none of the bloat is there which is common with new product versions.

Posted on March 10, 2009, in Apple, Microsoft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

