Gran Turismo 5 Review (PS3)

Developer – Polyphony Digital

Publisher – Sony Computer Entertainment

Release Date – November 24 2010

First off there are a few things you should know about my experience with racing games. I’m not a sim racing fan, I’ve only played a few hours of Forza 2 and GT4, but I have played a lot of other racers like the Burnout series, Motorstorm, kart racers (Mario Kart and Mod Nation Racers) and occasionally the NFS series. So based on this I should hate GT5, but I don’t.

The big difference with GT5 is I bought it with a steering wheel (a crappy one, but I have tried the Logitech G27 and it makes it even better). The steering wheel is essential to an ideal game play experience with GT5 and finally made me understand what this specific genre is all about. It’s about the amazing depth and attention to detail of the cars and emulation of the racing experience on real world tracks. Cars actually feel drastically different unlike most other racing games I’ve played and whether it is a rear/front or all wheel drive requires a different approach to how you handle the car. You can also tweak all aspects of the cars which I’m not going to pretend I know anything about such as brakes, suspension etc.

I also really enjoyed the GT mode which you start off from scratch racing with small slow cars and build your way up to the exotic super cars. There are license tests, special challenges (kart, dirt, nascar, top gear track etc.) and a B spec mode which is you managing a driver through races. You earn credits from racers to buy new or used cars to fill up your garage.

There have been a lot of complaints about the outdated aspect of the GT5 when compared to western developed racers, most of it is justified such as the long load times and damage (which only unlocks later). But things like progression where you don’t stand a chance unless you upgrade your car (or over upgrade and blaze through) is fine with me as I’m not very good at the game. Once you get to the higher classes above professional this doesn’t really matter as you need a fully upgraded car plus get through the race close to perfect to even place in a race.

Another thing I don’t care about is how long it took to come out, as other reviewers have griped about. It’s not like I was waiting for it to come out, there were plenty of other racing games out there to tide my appetite. Stop complaining about games taking so long to be completed and being delayed, just enjoy the overwhelming amount of other games that are released in the meantime.

Recommendation: Only if you are willing to spend the money on a racing wheel and if you have some patience (the loading times are frustrating). If not pick up Forza 3 for the XBOX 360.

Posted on January 27, 2011, in Completed Games, PS3, Recommendations, Review, Sony, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

